Ringo starr – beaucoups

Ringo Starr – Beaucoups Of Blues [1970] (Full Album)

Beaucoups of Blues is the second studio album by former Beatle Ringo Starr. It was released in September 1970, five months after his debut solo album, Sentimental Journey. However, Beaucoups of Blues is very far removed in style from its pop-based predecessor, relying on country and western influences. Still, like its predecessor, the album proved a moderate commercial success, reaching Billboard’s number 35 slot on the Country Albums chart and number 65 on the Billboard 200 chart. During Ringo Starr’s tenure with the Beatles he had dabbled with in country music: the band covered the country song Act Naturally, and Starr co-wrote the country-influenced track What Goes On and wrote the country song Don’t Pass Me By. While playing on sessions for George Harrison’s All Things Must Pass, Starr a long-time country and western fan met Pete Drake, in May 1970. Realising Drake’s deep connection to country, Starr asked him if they could collaborate on an album together. Drake told Starr his musician friends could compose more than an album’s worth of material in a week, which Starr thought was impossible. Starr was very keen and agreed. Starr promptly flew to Nashville on 22 June. Ringo Starr had a demonstrated affinity for country music, as heard on such Beatles recordings as Act Naturally, and he sounded as modestly comfortable on this Nashville-recorded session as in any other musical context. The cream of the city’s session players backed up the former Beatle on a set of newly written songs, and the result was a typical country effort, pleasant as long as you didn’t expect too much. Of course, this was the second straight genre exercise for Starr, following his pop standards album Sentimental Journey, and now he had tackled two styles that depend on vocal stylists for much of their appeal. On both, Ringo was Ringo. But with the Beatles fading into history, his suddenly front-burner solo career was starting to look like a series of dabblings rather than a coherent follow-up to the group’s success. (From AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann)
Ringo Starr Beaucoups Of Blues [1970] (Full Album)

A1. Beaucoups Of Blues (Written By Buzz Rabin) – 2:33
A2. Love Don’t Last Long (Written By Chuck Howard) – 2:44
A3. Fastest Growing Heartache In The West (Written By F. Dycus, L. Kingston) – 2:33
A4. Without Her (Written By Sorrells Pickard) – 2:34
A5. Women Of The Night (Written By Sorrells Pickard) – 2:21
A6. I’d Be Talking All The Time (Written By C. Howard, L. Kingston) – 2:10
B1. $ 15 Draw (Written By Sorrells Pickard) – 3:27
B2. Wine, Women And Loud Happy Songs (Written By Larry Kingston) – 2:17
B3. I Wouldn’t Have You Any Other Way (Written By Chuck Howard) – 2:57
B4. Loser’s Lounge (Written By Bobby Pierce) – 2:23
B5. Waiting (Written By Chuck Howard) – 2:54
B6. Silent Homecoming (Written By Sorrells Pickard) – 3:53

BONUS: Coochy Coochy (Richard Starkey) – 4:48 J. Fontana, Buddy Harman, Junior Huskey, Ben Keith, Dave Kirby, Charlie McCoy, Jerry Reed, George Richey, Jerry Shook) – 6:39

Personnel: Ringo Starr: vocals, drums, acoustic guitar, The Jordanaires: backing vocals, Jeannie Kendal: backing vocals on I Wouldn’t Have You Any Other Way, Chuck Howard: guitar, Charlie Daniels: guitar, Jerry Kennedy: guitar, Dave Kirby: guitar, Sorrells Pickard: guitar, Jerry Reed: guitar, Jerry Shook: guitar, Ben Keith: pedal steel guitar, Pete Drake: pedal steel guitar, Buddy Harman: bass guitar, Roy Huskey Jnr: upright bass, Jim Buchanan: fiddle, George Richey: fiddle, Grover Lavernder: fiddle, D. J. Fontana: drums, Charlie McCoy: harmonica. By [sƒ In Runout Etch]: Sam Feldman/Mastered At Bell Sound Studios

Pressed By Capitol Records Pressing Plant, Scranton
Printed By Queens Litho Window Music, Inc. BMI
Recorded in England
Label: Apple Records SMAS 3368, Apple Records SMAS-3368/Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Scranton Pressing, Gatefold/Country: US
Released: 25 September 1970
Recorded: 23 June 1 July 1970
Studio: Music City Recorders, Nashville, Tennessee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *